

POTTSTOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING December 1, 2022

The Re-Organization Meeting for the Board of School Directors of the Pottstown School District was held on Thursday, December 1, 2022at 6:30 PM in the Conference Room at the Administration Building with President, Ms. Katina Bearden presiding. Upon roll call, the following members were present: Mr. John Armato, Mr. Kurt Heidel, Mr. Thomas Hylton, Mrs. Laura Johnson, Mr. Steve Kline, Mrs. Susan Lawrence Absent was Mr. Phoebe Kancianic and Ms. Deborah Spence. Also present were Superintendent, Mr. Stephen Rodriguez; Business Administrator, Ms. Maureen Jampo; Director of Human Resources, Mr. Matthew Boyer; Solicitor, Mr. Stephen Kalis.

Presentation:

<u>Superintendent Award</u>: Mr. Rodriguez presented the Superintendent Award to two Pottstown School District students for their brave actions during a time of crisis.

Notice of the Organization Meeting

Ms. Jampo affirmed the Re-organization meeting was advertised as part of the 2022 Board meeting advertised on January 24, 2022 in the local newspaper.

Nominations and Election of Temporary Chairperson

Mr. Kalis called for the nominations of a Temporary Chairperson.

Mrs. Johnson nominated Mr. Armato. Mr. Armato declined.

Mr. Armato nominated Mr. Hylton.

There were no further nominations for a Temporary Chairperson. It was moved by Mr. Heidel and seconded by Mr. Kline to close the nominations for Temporary Chairperson. All members voted aye to close the nominations. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, all members present voted aye to elect Mr. Hylton as Temporary Chairperson. Ayes: Seven. Nays: Absent: Two. Motion carried.

Mr. Hylton was elected Temporary Chairperson

Nominations and Election of Board President

Mr. Hylton called for nominations for Board President.

Mr. Hylton nominated Ms. Bearden.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Board President. It was moved by Mr. Heidel and seconded by Mr. Kline to close the nominations. All members voted aye to close the nominations and vote for the Office of President. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, all members present voted aye to elect Ms. Bearden as Board President. Ayes: Seven. Nays: None. Absent: Two. Motion carried.

Ms. Bearden was declared the Board President.

Nominations and Election of Vice-President

Ms. Bearden called for nominations for Board Vice-President.

Mrs. Johnson nominated Mr. Kline.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Vice-President. It was moved by Mr. Heidel and seconded by Mrs. Lawrence to close the nominations. All members voted aye to close the nominations for the Office of Vice-President. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, all members voted aye to elect Mr. Kline as Vice-President. Ayes: Seven. Nays: None. Absent: Two. Motion carried.

Parliamentarian Procedures

Appointment of Parliamentarian/Approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure

It was moved by Mr. Heidel and second by Mrs. Johnson that the Board approve the solicitor as Parliamentarian and approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure.

All members were in favor. None opposed. Motion carried.

Committee Appointments for 2023

Ms. Bearden asked that Board Members contact her any committee assignment preferences. Committee appointments and structure will be determined at the January Board Workshop. No committee meetings will be held in January.

Regular Board Meetings for 2023

Ms. Bearden looks forward having the 2023 Board Meeting Calendar in place by the end of December to permit everyone with the opportunity to set their calendars for the new year.

INFORMATION

- Committee meetings immediately follow the Reorganization meeting:
 - Policy/Personnel Committee
 - Curriculum Committee
- Regular Board Meeting: December 15, 2022

Board President Remarks

Ms. Bearden recognized each School Board Director for their talents and contributions supporting the education of the students and community.

ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Mr. Armato and seconded by Mrs. Lawrence that the meeting adjourns. All members voted were in favor. None opposed. The meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.

former Maureen Jampo

Board Secretary